Rattliff, England, Coffman, and Hounshell, Jr. Roll to Victories at Ponderosa Speedway
Junction City, KY (May 23, 2014) Ponderosa Speedway would return to action on Friday evening and feature event winners for the night included Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, KY in Super Late Models, Michael England of Glasgow, KY in Modifieds, Todd Coffman of Junction City, KY in Pro Late Models, and Glen Hounshell, Jr. of Mount Vernon, KY in Sportsman.

The Super Late Model main event would see Tim Tungate take the early race lead, with Stephen Breeding and Justin Rattliff giving chase.  Rattliff would take second from Breeding on lap 3 and set his sights on teammate Tungate.  The pair would begin to battle for the lead on lap 6 before Rattliff would grab the top spot two circuits later on lap 8.  Rattliff would begin to slowly drive away from the field, while Tripp Gerrald would work past Breeding for third around the midpoint of the 25 lap event.  The first caution of the race waved on lap 19 when Ernie Cordier pulled to a stop in turn one and his night ending on the hook.  The restart would also be voided when Timmy Taylor would spin in turn four.  The final restart would see Rattliff again pull out to a comfortable lead and see the checkered flag first aboard the James Rattliff owned MGL Auto Sales/On Time Courier/On Time Construction/JRR Auto Sales/The Auto Outlet/Barnes Auto Sales/I1S Transport/Wave Length Hair Salon/Budda Bert Transmission/Base Fuel/Hoosier Tire/Peterson Fluid Systems/Ohlins Shocks/Quarter Master/Dyer’s Top Rods/Sweet Mfg./Wiles Driveshafts/Butler Built/Beyea Headers/Simpson Race Products/AFCO Race Products/B&B Motorsports/SpeeDecals Vinyl Graphics/CV Products/Delph Communications sponsored #16 Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Cornett Race Engine.  Tungate would drive the Rayburn Race Car team car to Rattliff to a second place finish, holding off the charges of Gerrald.  Breeding and Tommy Bailey completed the top five.  The remainder of the top ten were Dennis Roberson, Dillan White, Dion Benningfield, Jake Henry, and Timmy Taylor.  Twelve entries saw Rattliff be the top qualifier at 14.020 seconds, while Tungate and Breeding won the heat events.

Michael England would take the lead at the start of the 20 lap Modified main event and would pull away to a nice lead by the midpoint of the race, only to have slower traffic hamper his efforts a bit, allowing teammate Ryan Thomas to close in on England until he cleared slower traffic and had clear track in front of him with five laps remaining.  Elliott Despain would dog Jeff Watson for the third spot at this point and Watson would draw the only caution of the race when he looped his machine in turn four with two laps remaining.  The restart would see England drive away and maintain the lead as the second-generation pilot grabbed the win in the seat of the Kerry Trowbridge owned Tri County Auto and Oil/Automotive Specialists/Johnson Heating and Air/Pro Crafters/Brunner and Son Lawn Maintenance/Dexter’s Gun and Ammo/KY Clutch/Renegade Race Fuel sponsored #116 Lightning Chassis sporting a Pro Power Race Engine.  Thomas would finish second, with Despain taking third.  Benji Lee and Rocky Wilson completed the top five.  Rounding out the top ten were John Smith, Amos Bunch, Jeff Watson, Jeff Rawlings, and Tim Patrick.  Eighteen entries saw England as top qualifier at 14.930 seconds, with heat race wins going to England, Watson, and Thomas.

Todd Coffman would lead all 20 laps of the Pro Late Model feature contest in dominate fashion and pick up another win in the division aboard the Sharon Coffman owned Coffman’s Photography/The Muffler Shop/Auto Connection/Archie’s Tire/Todd’s Body Shop/Harrod Farms/Wilson Equipment sponsored #35 Rocket Chassis. GM604 powered entry.  Elliott Despain would take runner-up honors, while Jeremy Struck would nip Wesley Brummett for third at the finish, with Matt Henderson completing the top five.  Coffman would be the top qualifier among five entries at 14.540 seconds and would also win the heat.

Glen Hounshell, Jr. and Glen Branham would trade the lead five times over the course of the Sportsman feature event, with Hounshell, Jr. finally prevailing in the waning laps of the event to pick up the 15 lap feature victory behind the wheel of his Central KY Sheet Metal/Smokehouse Grill/Nationwide Insurance/Central Scrap/R&R Builders/Jenning’s Do It Best Center/B&B Homes/AR Bodies/HUH Heads/Boyd Built Brakes sponsored #20 Chevy Camaro SS.  Branham would take runner-up honors for the third straight time, while Darrell Cain, Sarah Patrick, and Charles Burton completed the running order.  Branham would be the top qualifier among six entries at 17.230 seconds, while Hounshell, Jr. won the heat.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, Kentucky-May 23, 2014

Super Late Models (12 entries)
Top Qualifier- Justin Rattliff 14.020
1st Heat- Tim Tungate, Justin Rattliff, Tripp Gerrald, Dennis Roberson, Timmy Taylor (DNS- Chris Ruble)
2nd Heat- Stephen Breeding, Jake Henry, Ernie Cordier, Tommy Bailey, Dion Benningfield (DNS- Dillan White)
Feature- Justin Rattliff, Tim Tungate, Tripp Gerrald, Stephen Breeding, Tommy Bailey, Dennis Roberson, Dillan White, Dion Benningfield, Jake Henry, Timmy Taylor, Ernie Cordier, Chris Ruble

Modifieds (18 entries)
Top Qualifier- Michael England 14.930
1st Heat- Michael England, Elliott Despain, Stacey Decker, John Smith, Magen Witt, Tim Patrick
2nd Heat- Jeff Watson, Shon Flanary, Rocky Wilson, Jeff Rawlings, Mike Petrey, Daniel Stephens
3rd Heat- Ryan Thomas, Benji Lee, Amos Bunch, Greg Coulton, Tim Potts (DNS- David Webb)
Feature- Michael England, Ryan Thomas, Elliott Despain, Benji Lee, Rocky Wilson, John Smith, Amos Bunch, Jeff Watson, Jeff Rawlings, Tim Patrick, Stacey Decker, Mike Petrey, Magen Witt, Greg Coulton, Shon Flanary (DNS- Daniel Stephens, Tim Potts, David Webb)

Pro Late Models (5 entries)
Top Qualifier- Todd Coffman 14.540
Heat- Todd Coffman, Elliott Despain, Wesley Brummett, Jeremy Strunk, Matt Henderson
Feature- Todd Coffman, Elliott Despain, Jeremy Strunk, Wesley Brummett, Matt Henderson

Sportsman (6 entries)
Top Qualifier- Glen Branham 17.230
Heat- Glen Hounshell, Jr., Glen Branham, Darrell Cain, Sarah Patrick, Charles Burton (DNS- Jesse Morris)
Feature- Glen Hounshell, Jr., Glen Branham, Darrell Cain, Sarah Patrick, Charles Burton (DNS- Jesse Morris)