Yeager, Thomas, Coffman, and Bottoms Win on “Lucky Friday the 13th” at Ponderosa Speedway
Junction City, KY (June 13, 2014) After being off last week, Ponderosa Speedway returned to action on Friday evening with a full program of racing competition on “Lucky Friday the 13th”.  Feature event winners for the evening included Timmy Yeager of Harrodsburg, KY in Super Late Models, Ryan Thomas of Gosport, IN in Modifieds, Todd Coffman of Junction City, KY in Pro Late Models, and Derek Bottoms of Taylorsville, KY in Sportsman.

The Super Late Model main event would see Timmy Yeager jump to the race lead, with Dennis Roberson, Tim Tungate, and Tripp Gerrald in pursuit.  Tungate and Gerrald would work past Roberson on lap 3, while Gerrald would roll past Tungate for second one circuit later.  Yeager would put some distance on the battle for second between Gerrald and Tungate until Gerrald would spin his machine in turn two on lap 14.  The restart would see trouble in turn three when Gerrald, Daniel Dial, Timmy Taylor, and J.L. Muse would tangle in turn three.  This restart would see Yeager again pull away from now second place Tungate, while ninth starting Victor Lee would challenge Roberson for the third position.  Daniel Dial would spin on lap 18 and see his night be finished, while Lee’s run would end when he slowed in turn two on lap 23.  Yeager would keep everyone at bay in the remaining laps and score his first win at Ponderosa after a six year absence at the track aboard the Jamie Stumph owned Steve Caton Industrial Painting/Superior Drywall/Budda Bert Transmission Sales and Service/Yeager Insulation/Wayne Bowen Racing Supply sponsored #10 C.J. Rayburn Race Car powered by a Bullock Race Engine.  Roberson would slip past Tungate on the final restart to take second, while Tungate would finish in third.  Jake Henry and Dion Benningfield would complete the top five finishers.  Eleven entries saw Lee as top qualifier at 14.900 seconds, while heat wins went to Yeager and Roberson.

Benji Lee would lead the first five laps of the Modified feature contest, but would lose the lead to teammate Ryan Thomas on a lap 6 restart and Thomas and Lee would motor away from the field during the remainder of the event, with Thomas scoring his second consecutive win at the track behind the wheel of the Kerry Trowbridge owned Automotive Specialists/Johnson Heating and Air/KY Clutch/Tri County Auto and Oil/Brunner and Son Lawn Maintenance/Dexter’s Gun and Ammo/Pro Crafters sponsored #16 Diamond Race Car, Pro Power Race Engines powered entry.  Lee would take runner-up honors, while veteran Don Adams would finish third.  The remainder of the top five would be fifteen year old Blake Brown and Rocky Wilson.  Sixteen entries saw Lee as top qualifier at 15.760 seconds, while heat race victories went to Lee, Adams, and Thomas.

Todd Coffman would pick up his fifth straight feature win in the Pro Late Model division as he would pilot the Sharon Coffman owned Coffman’s Photography/The Muffler Shop/Premier Self Storage/Auto Connection/Archie’s Tire/Todd’s Body Shop/Wilson Equipment/Harrod Farms sponsored #35 Rocket Chassis, GM604 powered mount to the victory.  Victor Lee (subbing for Chris Fair) would start at the rear of the field and drive to a second place finish, while Elliott Despain would finish in the third spot.  Fourteen year old Connor Meade would finish fourth, with veteran Dennis Barton completing the top five.  A season-high ten entries would see Coffman as top qualifier at 14.860 seconds, while heat race checkered flags went to Coffman and Despain.

The Sportsman main event would see Derek Bottoms outduel Glen Hounshell, Jr. on a final restart with four laps remaining and the defending track champion in the division would score his first feature victory of the season in the seat of the Tracy Bottoms owned Central Kentucky Motorsports Swap Meet/Gray Racing/Bagdad Lumber/Canton Racing Products/Phantom Race Gear/Whitehouse Auto and Body Repair/Lykins Oil/VP Racing Fuel/Red Line Oil/ sponsored #93 Chevy Impala powered by a Dale Meers Race Engine.  Hounshell, Jr. would finish second, while the trio of Jeremy Howard, Nathaniel Mullins, and former track champion Donnie Sullivan completed the top five.  Thirteen entries would see Howard as top qualifier at 16.970 seconds, while heat race wins were scored by Bottoms and Hounshell, Jr.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, Kentucky-June 13, 2014

Super Late Models (11 entries)
Top Qualifier- Victor Lee 14.900
1st Heat- Timmy Yeager, Tripp Gerrald, Dion Benningfield, Timmy Taylor, Victor Lee (DNS- J.L. Muse)
2nd Heat- Dennis Roberson, Tim Tungate, Jake Henry, Richard Musick, Daniel Dial
Feature- Timmy Yeager, Dennis Roberson, Tim Tungate, Jake Henry, Dion Benningfield, J.L. Muse, Victor Lee, Daniel Dial, Timmy Taylor, Tripp Gerrald (DNS- Richard Musick)

Modifieds (16 entries)
Top Qualifier- Benji Lee 15.760
1st Heat- Benji Lee, Blake Brown, Jeff Rawlings, Kenny Reams, Mike Petrey, Tim Potts
2nd Heat- Don Adams, Jeff Watson, Rocky Wilson, Stacey Decker, Greg Coulton
3rd Heat- Ryan Thomas, Steven Eversole, Donnie Gumm, Tim Patrick, Daniel Stephens
Feature- Ryan Thomas, Benji Lee, Don Adams, Blake Brown, Rocky Wilson, Stacey Decker, Jeff Rawlings, Kenny Reams, Donnie Gumm, Mike Petrey, Greg Coulton, Tim Potts, Jeff Watson, Steven Eversole (DNS- Tim Patrick, Daniel Stephens)

Pro Late Models (10 entries)
Top Qualifier- Todd Coffman 14.860
1st Heat- Todd Coffman, Zane Powell, Gary Yeager, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Connor Meade
2nd Heat- Elliott Despain, A.J. Reams, Dennis Barton, Wesley Brummett, Chris Fair
Feature- Todd Coffman, Victor Lee, Elliott Despain, Connor Meade, Dennis Barton, Gary Yeager, A.J. Reams, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Wesley Brummett, Zane Powell

Sportsman (13 entries)
Top Qualifier- Jeremy Howard 16.970
1st Heat- Derek Bottoms, Jeremy Howard, Nathaniel Mullins, Gary Thompson, Terry Cheeks, Sarah Patrick
2nd Heat- Glen Hounshell, Jr., Donnie Sullivan, Glen Branham, Darrell Cain, Johnny King, Paul Hendrix, Charles Burton
Feature- Derek Bottoms, Glen Hounshell, Jr., Jeremy Howard, Nathaniel Mullins, Donnie Sullivan, Darrell Cain, Terry Cheeks, Glen Branham, Sarah Patrick, Gary Thompson, Johnny King, Paul Hendrix, Charles Burton