Chilton, Despain, and Mother Nature Find Victory Lane at Ponderosa Speedway
Junction City, KY (June 27, 2014) After last week’s rainout, racing action returned to Ponderosa Speedway on Friday evening and two feature events were completed before Mother Nature visited again, raining out the remainder of the feature events.  Michael Chilton of Salvisa, KY would score the victory in the Super Late Model feature, while Elliott Despain of Campbellsville, KY would take the win in the Pro Late Model feature.

The Modified and Sportsman feature events were rained out as heavy rains hit the track just as the Modified main event was getting set to take the green flag, forcing the cancellation of the those two contests.  The Modified and Sportsman feature events will be made-up at the track’s next event on Friday June 18 as part of the 14th Annual Hugh “Junebug” Rowland Memorial event, making for double features in both of those divisions.

The Super Late Model main event would see Timmy Yeager take the lead at the start of the event, while Justin Rattliff and Michael Chilton battled for second behind Yeager.  Chilton would finally win the battle for second with Rattliff on lap 4 and set his sights on the race leader.  Chilton would close in on Yeager begin to challenge for the lead on lap 7 and would take the lead on lap 8 in turn one, with Rattliff slipping past Yeager as well to go the runner-up slot.  The only caution of the event flew on lap 13 when Lester Decker’s mount would roll to a stop in turn two.  When action resumed, Chilton and Rattliff would pull away from Yeager a bit, while Jeff Watson would challenge Dion Benningfield for the fourth spot and take it on lap 17, as Benningfield would see his night end with a flat right rear tire two circuits later.  Chilton would keep Rattliff at bay during the remainder of the event and score his first win of the season at the track aboard his Caton Industrial Painting/Chilton Lawn and Maintenance/Keyser Manufacturing/Budda Bert Transmission Sales and Service sponsored #97 Revelution Race Car powered by Bullock Race Engine.  Rattliff would settle for runner-up honors, while Yeager would claim the third position.  Watson and Tommy Bailey would complete the top five.  Chilton would be the top qualifier among nine entries at 13.630 seconds, while Yeager would take the heat victory.

The Pro Late Model feature would see Chase McWhorter make his first appearance at the track this season and McWhorter would lead the first 10 circuits of the division’s main event before Elliott Despain would roll past the leader on the outside and take the race lead on lap 11 and survive a restart with seven laps remaining to pick up his second win of the season in the class behind the wheel of the Billy and Lisa Despain owned Lucas Oil Products/Miller Pest Control/Southern Indiana Rock Drilling/Chandler Heating and Cooling/Family Eye Care/NAPA/SpeeDecals Vinyl Graphics/Mike Williams Auto Repair/VP Racing Fuel/VP Small Engine Fuel/Bilstein/Schoenfield/SRA Racing Photos/Dyer’s Top Rods/Canton Racing Products/ Stage 8/Butler Built/Bassett Wheels/K&N Filters/DJ Safety/Hypercoils/PRC/Wiles Driveshafts/BSB Manufacturing sponsored #75e C.J. Rayburn Race Car, GM604 powered entry.  McWhorter would finish second, with Todd Coffman taking the third position.  Gary Yeager and Johnny Tyler would complete the top five.  Coffman would be the top qualifier among eight entries at 14.230 seconds, while McWhorter would win the heat.

The Modified feature would be rained out, but all preliminary events would be completed.  Jimmy Payne would be the top qualifier for the division among 19 entries at 14.800 seconds.  Three heat race events would be contested and those checkered flags would fall to Cameron Marlar, Ryan Thomas, and J.T. Ayers.  The feature event for this division will be contested on Friday July 18.

The Sportsman feature would also fall victim to Mother Nature, but the preliminary events for this division were also completed.  Glen Hounshell, Jr. would the top qualifier among 10 entries at 15.820 seconds, while heat race wins were scored by Hounshell, Jr. and Pherman Stewart.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-June 27, 2014

Super Late Models (9 entries)
Top Qualifier- Michael Chilton 13.630
Heat- Timmy Yeager, Justin Rattliff, Michael Chilton, Dion Benningfield, Jake Henry, Jeff Watson, Timmy Taylor, Lester Decker, Tommy Bailey
Feature- Michael Chilton, Justin Rattliff, Timmy Yeager, Jeff Watson, Tommy Bailey, Jake Henry, Timmy Taylor, Dion Benningfield, Lester Decker

Pro Late Models (8 entries)
Top Qualifier- Todd Coffman 14.230
Heat- Chase McWhorter, Elliott Despain, Todd Coffman, Zane Powell, Gary Yeager, Chris Fair (DNS- Johnny Tyler, David Hill)
Feature- Elliott Despain, Chase McWhorter, Todd Coffman, Gary Yeager, Johnny Tyler, Chris Fair, David Hill, Zane Powell

Modifieds (19 entries)
Top Qualifier- Jimmy Payne 14.800
1st Heat- Cameron Marlar, Jimmy Payne, Keith Smith, Mikah Reams, Mike Petrey, Kevin Nesselhauf, Greg Coulton
2nd Heat- Ryan Thomas, Benji Lee, Elliott Despain, Blake Brown, Steven Eversole, Keith Decker
3rd Heat- J.T. Ayers, Rocky Wilson, Jeff Rawlings, Stacey Decker, Tim Potts, Kenny Reams
Feature- Rained Out to July 18 (feature field is set and no other drivers can start this feature event)

Sportsman (10 entries)
Top Qualifier- Glen Hounshell, Jr. 15.820
1st Heat- Glen Hounshell, Jr., Nathaniel Mullins, Terry Cheeks, Johnny King, Darrell Cain
2nd Heat- Pherman Stewart, Eddie Stewart, Glen Branham, Sarah Patrick, Paul Hendrix
Feature- Rained Out to July 18 (feature field is set and no other drivers can start this feature event)