Dustin Linville Lands Second Straight “Junebug” Rowland Memorial Win at Ponderosa Speedway
Junction City, KY (July 24, 2015) The 15th Annual Hugh “Junebug” Rowland Memorial would be on the docket on Friday evening at Ponderosa Speedway and Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, KY would win his second straight “Junebug” event by taking the $3,000 victory for the Good Neighbor Pharmacy Super Late Models.  Other feature event winners included Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, IN in Premier Integrity Solutions Pro Late Models, Billy Workman, Jr. of Mooresville, NC in Sweet Beans and Things Modifieds, Glen Hounshell, Jr. in Lawson Tractor Sales and Service KDRA Super Stocks, and Jason Bell of London, KY in Hardees Mini-Cup/Cyclones.

Michael Chilton would take the lead at the start of the 35 lap Good Neighbor Pharmacy Super Late Model “Junebug” Memorial main event, with Brandon Kinzer giving chase.  Chilton would open up to a nice lead, but Kinzer would close in a bit on Chilton as he started working slower traffic.  Chilton would see his lead erased for a tangle on lap 20 between the lapped car of J.L. Muse and then 7th place running Johnny Wheeler, with Wheeler being done for the night.  The restart would see Dustin Linville work his way past Kinzer for second and set his sights on Chilton.  The final caution of the race flew on lap 26 when fifth place running Skylar Marlar would slow in turn two after contact with the outside retaining wall two laps earlier.  The restart would see Chilton and Linville put some distance on the field and as the pair entered turn three on lap 33, Chilton would get a bit higher and Linville would work under Chilton and take the lead and drive to the win in the Terry Linville owned Johnny Maco Electric/Paul Benton Auto Body/Linville’s Finish Carpentry/Graphic Impressions/G&J Bottling/Red’s Auto and Tire/Cookie Monster Power Plants/M&D Electric/Pine Top Motors/M&K Car Care/Bluegrass Radiator sponsored #D8 Swartz Race Car sporting a Bullock Race Engine.  Chilton would hold off Kinzer for the second position, while Mike Marlar and Justin Rattliff completed the top five.  The remainder of the top ten would be Tommy Bailey, Jason Barrett, J.L. Muse, Timmy Taylor, and Donnie Sullivan.  Linville would be the top qualifier among 13 entries at 13.622 seconds, while Kinzer and Chilton were heat race winners.

Zane Powell would lead the first 19 laps of the Premier Integrity Solutions Pro Late Model feature contest before second generation racer Hudson O’Neal would work past him on the final lap and in turn three to pick up his first ever win at the track aboard the Don O’Neal owned Peak Motor Oil/Crawford Supply/O’Neal Salvage/Tarpy Trucking/Penske Shocks sponsored #71 Barry Wright Race Car, GM604 powered mount.  Powell would take runner-up honors, while Jake Henry, Darrell Gaddis, and Todd Coffman would complete the top five.  Rounding out the top ten would be David Freeman, Brian Walters, Terry Smith, Chris Fair, and Tyler Allen.  O’Neal would be top qualifier among 13 entries at 14.458 seconds, while Powell and Gaddis would win the heat race events.

J.T. Ayers and Victor Lee were battling for the lead on lap 9 of the Sweet Beans and Things Modified main event when both drivers spun in unison in turn two, with Lee eventually pulling pitside for the evening.  This turn of events would hand the race lead over to Billy Workman, Jr. and he would drive away from the field to pick up his first-ever Ponderosa victory behind the wheel of the Ron Hornaday, Jr. owned Top Cat Performance/Phil Bond Construction/Kooks/Race City Powdercoating/Penske Shocks/Sunoco/Fluidyne sponsored #64 Diamond Race Car by Hornaday, VED Race Engines powered entry.  Blake Brown would finish second, while Jeff Watson would claim the third position.  Peyton Harlow and Eddie Stewart would round out the top five.  Completing the top ten would be Gerald Haynes, Jr., Ayers, Brandon Reed, Tim Patrick, and Slater McCray.  Workman, Jr. would be the top qualifier among 15 entries at 15.440 seconds, with Ayers and Lee winning the heat races.

Glen Hounshell, Jr. would lead all 15 laps of the Lawson Tractor Sales and Service KDRA Super Stock feature event and pad his points lead a bit with the win in his Kentucky’s Best Transmission/Jay’s Golf Carts/R&R Builders/Jennings Do It Best/Nationwide Insurance/Central Scrap/Smokehouse Grill sponsored #20 entry.  Johnny King would take second place honors, while David Murphy, Danny Blackwell, and Buster Goforth completed the top five.  Eight entries saw King as top qualifier at 16.754 seconds and also win the heat.

Jason Bell would outduel Scott Crusenberry for the win in the Hardees Mini-Cup/Cyclone feature race aboard the Sarah Bell owned sponsored #97 mount.  Crusenberry would finish second, while Cole Bland and Tyler Smith completed the running order.  Bell would also win the heat race event.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-July 24, 2015

Good Neighbor Pharmacy Super Late Models (13 entries) Top Qualifier- Dustin Linville 13.622 1st Heat- Brandon Kinzer, Dustin Linville, Justin Rattliff, Johnny Wheeler, Jason Barrett, Timmy Taylor, J.L. Muse 2nd Heat- Michael Chilton, Skylar Marlar, Mike Marlar, Tommy Bailey, Donnie Sullivan, Robert Luttrell, Jr.
Hugh “Junebug” Rowland Memorial- Dustin Linville, Michael Chilton, Brandon Kinzer, Mike Marlar, Justin Rattliff, Tommy Bailey, Jason Barrett, J.L. Muse, Timmy Taylor, Donnie Sullivan, Skylar Marlar, Johnny Wheeler, Robert Luttrell, Jr. 

Premier Integrity Solutions Pro Late Models (13 entries) Top Qualifier- Hudson O’Neal 14.458 1st Heat- Zane Powell, Jake Henry, Hudson O’Neal, Chris Fair, Cody Smith, Jeremy Thomasson (DNS- Keith Denny) 2nd Heat- Darrell Gaddis, David Freeman, Brian Walters, Terry Smith, Tyler Allen, Todd Coffman
Feature- Hudson O’Neal, Zane Powell, Jake Henry, Darrell Gaddis, Todd Coffman, David Freeman, Brian Walters, Terry Smith, Chris Fair, Tyler Allen, Cody Smith, Keith Denny, Jeremy Thomasson

Sweet Beans and Things Modifieds (15 entries) Top Qualifier- Billy Workman, Jr. 15.440 1st Heat- J.T. Ayers, Billy Workman, Jr., Blake Brown, Jeff Watson, Tim Patrick, Slater McCray, Clay Reece, Corey Denny 2nd Heat- Victor Lee, Peyton Harlow, Gerald Haynes, Jr., Eddie Stewart, Brandon Reed, Joseph Husband, Jared Reams
Feature- Billy Workman, Jr., Blake Brown, Jeff Watson, Peyton Harlow, Eddie Stewart, Gerald Haynes, Jr., J.T. Ayers, Brandon Reed, Tim Patrick, Slater McCray, Jared Reams, Corey Denny, Clay Reece, Joseph Husband, Victor Lee

Lawson Tractor Sales and Service KDRA Super Stocks (8 entries) Top Qualifier- Johnny King 16.754
Heat- Johnny King, Glen Hounshell, Jr., David Murphy, Danny Blackwell, Bo Morris, Buster Goforth, Scott Hensley (DNS- Sarah Patrick)
Feature- Glen Hounshell, Jr., Johnny King, David Murphy, Danny Blackwell, Buster Goforth, Scott Hensley, Bo Morris (DNS- Sarah Patrick)

Hardees Mini-Cup/Cyclones (4 entries)
Heat- Jason Bell, Scott Crusenberry, Tyler Smith, Cole Bland
Feature- Jason Bell, Scott Crusenberry, Cole Bland, Tyler Smith