Marlar Wins Second Straight ULTIMATE Super Late Model Series John Bradshaw Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway
Junction City, KY (August 21, 2015) Ponderosa Speedway returned to action on Friday evening with the 12th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial presented by Sweet Beans and Things sanctioned by the ULTIMATE Super Late Model Series and seventh place starting Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN would score his second straight victory in the event and third career win in the race and claim the $15,012 payday.  Other feature event winners included Elliott Despain of Buffalo, KY in Premier Integrity Solutions Pro Late Models and Trent Young of Crofton, KY in Sweet Beans and Things Modifieds.  

Scott Bloomquist would take the lead in the early going of the event, with Jared Landers, Casey Roberts, Dustin Linville, and Justin Rattliff in pursuit.  By lap 10, Bloomquist had opened up a comfortable lead, while Jason Jameson and Mike Marlar were battling their ways into the top five.  The caution would wave on lap 17 when the combination of a slowing Skylar Marlar and debris in turn three slowed the action.  Bloomquist would maintain the lead on the restart, while fifth place Jameson would make a bold move resulting in a three wide race down the backchute and Jameson rolling off of turn four having taken second by the time the lap was completed.  Caution waved again just a few laps later when fifth place running Casey Roberts slowed in turn one with a flat right rear tire.  Back underway, Bloomquist would maintain the lead, while Jameson would have his hands full attempting the fend off the challenges of Landers and Mike Marlar.  Jameson’s mount would begin to show smoke around lap 35 of the 75 lap event and would slip in turn two, allowing Landers and Marlar to drive past.  That duo would begin to reel in Bloomquist, as the leader worked slower traffic.  Marlar would drive by Landers around lap 44 and set his sights on Bloomquist.  Marlar would run down the leader in heavy traffic and go to the race lead on lap 56 and being to pull away from the field, while Linville claimed third and began reeling in second place Bloomquist.  The final caution waved with 70 laps completed when Riley Hickman and Dustin Mitchell would spin in turn four, setting up a five lap shootout.  Marlar would maintain the lead and drive to the victory and big payday in the Ronnie Delk owned Delk Equipment/RS Trading/Superior Telecom sponsored #157 Capital Race Car powered by a Cornett Race Engine.  Bloomquist and Linville would round out the podium finishers respectively, while Landers and Rattliff completed the top five.  The remainder of the top ten would be 15th starting Josh Rice, followed by Earl Pearson, Jr., Michael Chilton, Victor Lee, and 16th starting Kent Robinson.  Mike Marlar would also be the top qualifier among 25 entries at 12.945 seconds, while heat race winners were Landers, Bloomquist, and Linville.

The Premier Integrity Solutions Pro Late Model main event would see a tangle on the opening lap that resulted in outside polesitter Adam Bowman and Todd Coffman being done for the night and original polesitter Brian Royalty electing to restart at the rear because of having a damaged race car.  Elliott Despain would take the lead at the outset and survive a late race caution with five laps to go and a slowly deflating right front tire to pick up the $800 payday behind the wheel of the Billy and Lisa Despain owned Lucas Oil Products/Southern Indiana Rock Drilling/Family Eye Care/Mike Williams Auto Repair/SpeeDecals Vinyl Graphics/Bilstein Shocks/Schoenfield Headers/K&N Filters/VP Fuels/PRC/AR Bodies sponsored #75e C.J. Rayburn Race Car, GM604 powered machine.  Zane Powell would work past on out of shape, almost spinning out Hudson O’Neal on the final lap in turn four to claim runner-up honors, with Timmy Yeager, O’Neal, and Jake Henry completing the top five.  Rounding out the top ten would be Chris Fair, Sean Thomas, Eric Centers, Royalty, and Wesley Brummett.  Twelve entries would see O’Neal as top qualifier at 13.926 seconds, with Royalty and Adam Bowman winning the heats.

The Sweet Beans and Things Modified feature event would be a caution filled affair that would see Victor Lee lead the first 28 laps before suffering mechanical issues coming the white flag, ending his evening, handing the lead over to Trent Young.  Young would stave off the challenges of J.T. Ayers to claim the win in the Young Well Service/Mitchell Motorsports and Tools/Snap On Tools/Kissinger Red Angus/Emma’s Place and Feed/Ted Brown’s Quality Paint and Body/R&S Equipment/KBC Graphix sponsored #10y Bandit Race Car sporting a Stanton Race Engine.  Ayers would settle for second, with Jeff Watson finishing in third.  Cameron Marlar and Dennis Roberson would complete the top five.  The rest of the top ten finishers would be Blake Brown, Tommy Bailey, Peyton Harlow, Ben Petrey, and Gerald Haynes, Jr.  Twenty-three entries would see Young as top qualifier at 14.697 seconds, while heat race wins fell to Bailey, Lee, and Jimmy Payne.

SUMMARY- Ponderosa Speedway- Junction City, KY- August 21, 2015

ULTIMATE Super Late Model Series (25 entries) Top Qualifier- Mike Marlar 12.945 1st Heat- Jared Landers, Casey Roberts, Mike Marlar, Michael Chilton, Dennis Franklin, Kent Robinson, Daniel Dial (DNS- Jerry Rutherford) 2nd Heat- Scott Bloomquist, Jason Jameson, Earl Pearson, Jr., Tommy Bailey, Victor Lee, Dustin Mitchell, Johnny Wheeler, Dennis Barton 3rd Heat- Dustin Linville, Justin Rattliff, Riley Hickman, Brandon Kinzer, Josh Rice, David Webb, Skylar Marlar, Donnie Sullivan, Timmy Taylor 12th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial presented by Sweet Beans and Things- Mike Marlar, Scott Bloomquist, Dustin Linville, Jared Landers, Justin Rattliff, Josh Rice, Earl Pearson, Jr., Michael Chilton, Victor Lee, Kent Robinson, Casey Roberts, David Webb, Riley Hickman, Dennis Franklin, Daniel Dial, Johnny Wheeler, Timmy Taylor, Dustin Mitchell, Jason Jameson, Brandon Kinzer, Tommy Bailey, Skylar Marlar, Dennis Barton, Donnie Sullivan, Jerry Rutherford

Premier Integrity Solutions Pro Late Models (12 entries) Top Qualifier- Hudson O’Neal 13.926 1st Heat- Brian Royalty, Elliott Despain, Jake Henry, Hudson O’Neal, Chris Fair, Eric Centers 2nd Heat- Adam Bowman, Wesley Brummett, Zane Powell, Sean Thomas, Todd Coffman, Timmy Yeager
Feature- Elliott Despain, Zane Powell, Timmy Yeager, Hudson O’Neal, Jake Henry, Chris Fair, Sean Thomas, Eric Centers, Brian Royalty, Wesley Brummett, Adam Bowman, Todd Coffman

Sweet Beans and Things Modifieds (23 entries) Top Qualifier- Trent Young 14.697 1st Heat- Tommy Bailey, Trent Young, Jeff Watson, Peyton Harlow, Dennis Roberson, Ben Petrey, Joseph Husband, Cecil West 2nd Heat- Victor Lee, Craig Christian, Cameron Marlar, Wade Rookard, Gerald Haynes, Jr., Kelly Riggs, Shawn Hibbard (DNS- David Mitchell) 3rd Heat- Jimmy Payne, J.T. Ayers, Blake Brown, Eddie Stewart, Tim Patrick, Steven Eversole (DNS- Scott Wells)
Feature- Trent Young, J.T. Ayers, Jeff Watson, Cameron Marlar, Dennis Roberson, Blake Brown, Tommy Bailey, Peyton Harlow, Ben Petrey, Gerald Haynes, Jr., Victor Lee, Craig Christian, Joseph Husband, Wade Rookard, Kelly Riggs, Jimmy Payne, Cecil West, Steven Eversole, Eddie Stewart, Shawn Hibbard, Tim Patrick (DNS- David Mitchell, Scott Wells)