Ponderosa Speedway Season Finale Cancelled Due to State Electric Work on the Grounds
Junction City, KY (October 20, 2015) Ponderosa Speedway track promoter Jerry Denson regrets to inform everyone that the 2015 Season Championship season finale event scheduled for Saturday October 31 has been cancelled and will not take place due to some electrical issues that have to be upgraded at the 3/8 mile D-shaped red clay oval better known as “Kentucky’s Baddest Bullring” based on reports from the State Fire Marshall’s office. 

“We were visited earlier this year by some inspectors from the State Fire Marshall’s office and they gave us a list to things that had to be done prior to the next (2016) racing season”, stated track promoter Jerry Denson.  “I have worked with these people, meeting many of the requirements of the list, and they allowed us to get through the Fall Classic weekend before they returned once again to begin work on electrical issues that are not up to code according to the latest state of Kentucky regulations”, added Denson.  “A state electrical contractor came to the track yesterday (Monday), looked over things once again, and said they would be starting work at the first of next week and not knowing if the work would be completed prior to the scheduled last event, we really have no other option but to cancel the event.  This is mandated by the State Fire Marshall’s office and the work begins when they say they are ready to begin the work, so it is really out of our control”, concluded Denson.

Ponderosa Speedway sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience caused to race teams and race fans, but with this situation being a state-ordered mandate in order to stay in operation, the track has to comply now and that is also a reason for the cancellation.  The track’s Topless 30 event for the Pro Late Model division will be rescheduled for the Spring of 2016. 

With the season now complete, Ponderosa Speedway would like to congratulate its 2015 track champions:  Good Neighbor Pharmacy Super Late Models- Michael Chilton of Salvisa, KY;  Premier Integrity Solutions Pro Late Models- Zane Powell of Junction City, KY; Sweet Beans and Things Modifieds- J.T. Ayers of New Haven, KY; Lawson Tractor Sales and Service KDRA Super Stocks- Glen Hounshell, Jr. of Mount Vernon, KY; Hardees Mini-Cup/Cyclones- Jason Bell of London, KY; Four Cylinders- Freddy Breeden of Somerset, KY.  There will be an awards banquet to honor the track’s top drivers during the 2015 season and the date and time of that event will be announced at a later date.     

Three major dates on the 2016 Ponderosa Speedway racing schedule for the Super Late Model division are already in place.  The World of Outlaws Late Model Series will return to the track in 2016 on Friday May 13 and once again race for $10,000 to win.  On Friday August 26, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will make its first-ever appearance at Ponderosa Speedway for the 13th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial and pay $10,000 to win.  The 26th Annual Fall Classic will earmark the track’s schedule for its 44th season of action in 2016 on Thursday November 3, Friday November 4, and Saturday November 5 and will pay $26,000 to win for Super Late Models. 

Ponderosa Speedway is located at 365 Phillips Lane on the Boyle/Lincoln County border, outside of Junction City, KY, just minutes from Danville, KY.  Jerry Denson is the track promoter.  For more information about racing activities at Ponderosa Speedway, visit the track’s webpage on the internet at or by contacting track promoter Jerry Denson at (606) 235-0190 or via email at, via Twitter @MichaelDespain or @PonderosaSpdwy, or on Facebook at (Ponderosa Speedway).  Patrons and/or other interested parties can phone the track at (859) 854-6808 on raceday.

Ponderosa Speedway FINAL 2015 Top Ten Track Point Standings

Good Neighbor Pharmacy Super Late Models (FINAL)
1.            Michael Chilton (Salvisa, KY)- 681
2.            Justin Rattliff (Campbellsville, KY)- 559
3.            Timmy Taylor (Harrodsburg, KY)- 431
4.            Dustin Linville (Bryantsville, KY)- 410
5.            Brandon Kinzer (Lexington, KY)- 314
6.            J.L. Muse (Monticello, KY)- 309
7.            Victor Lee (Danville, KY)- 285
8.            Donnie Sullivan (Stanford, KY)- 265
9.            Daniel Dial (Lawrenceburg, KY)- 262
10.          Skylar Marlar (Winfield, TN)- 259

Premier Integrity Solutions Pro Late Models
1.            Zane Powell (Junction City, KY)- 768
2.            Todd Coffman (Parksville, KY)- 704
3.            Darrell Gaddis (Junction City, KY)- 499
4.            Chris Fair (Liberty, KY)- 452
5.            Jake Henry (Junction City, KY)- 439
6.            Timmy Yeager (Harrodsburg, KY)- 401
7.            Elliott Despain (Buffalo, KY)- 388
8.            Brian Walters (Russell Springs, KY)- 318
9.            Connor Meade (Clay City, KY)- 309
10.          Adam Bowman (Seymour, IN)- 294

Sweet Beans and Things Modifieds
1.            J.T. Ayers (New Haven, KY)- 731
2.            Jeff Watson (Campbellsville, KY)- 687
3.            Joseph Husband (Richmond, KY)- 508
4.            Victor Lee (Danville, KY)- 487
5.            Tim Patrick (Albany, KY)- 428
6.            Blake Brown (Monticello, KY)- 320
7.            Steven Eversole (Crab Orchard, KY)- 302
8.            David Webb (Nicholasville, KY)- 295
9.            Wade Rookard (East Bernstadt, KY)- 260
10.          Gerald Haynes, Jr. (Somerset, KY)- 258

Lawson Tractor Sales and Service KDRA Super Stocks
1.            Glen Hounshell, Jr. (Mount Vernon, KY)- 637
2.            Johnny King (Lancaster, KY)- 488
3.            Sarah Patrick (Albany, KY)- 422
4.            Eddie Stewart (Manchester, KY)- 422
5.            Bartley Grant (Berea, KY)- 330
6.            David Murphy (Stanford, KY)- 304
7.            Glen Branham (Berea, KY)- 237
8.            Derek Bottoms (Taylorsville, KY)- 229
9.            Jamey Adams (Laurelville, OH)- 215
10.          Jeremy Howard (Berea, KY)- 214

Hardee’s Mini-Cup/Cyclones
1.            Jason Bell (London, KY)- 481
2.            Scott Crusenberry (Williamsburg, KY)- 396
3.            Josh Dickerson (Richmond, KY)- 269
4.            Cole Bland (Campbellsville, KY)- 198
5.            Tim Crusenberry (Williamsburg, KY)- 194
6.            Michael Wallin (Crab Orchard, KY)- 62
7.            Bobby Williams (Hyden, KY)- 61
8.            Tyler Smith (Bimble, KY)- 18

Four Cylinders
1.            Freddy Breeden (Somerset, KY)- 320
2.            Keith Gipson (Keene, KY)- 285
3.            Jamison Gipson (Lancaster, KY)- 271
4.            Thomas Scenters (Berea, KY)- 261
5.            Dylan Stevens (Morehead, KY)- 199
6.            Clint Cox (Beattyville, KY)- 178
7.            Robert Minton (Williamsburg, KY)- 125
8.            Stacy Harrison (Keavy, KY)- 118
9.            Charles Burton (Somerset, KY)- 117
10.          Jeff Hutchinson (Morehead, KY)- 80