Chilton, O’Neal, Lee, Stewart, Bretz, and Dickerson Visit Victory Lane at Ponderosa Speedway
Junction City, KY (August 5, 2016) Ponderosa Speedway would return to regular Friday evening racing competition and feature event winners on Friday evening would include Michael Chilton of Salvisa, KY in Super Late Models, Hudson O’Neal of Martinsville, IN in Pro Late Models, Victor Lee of Danville, KY in Modifieds, Eddie Stewart of Manchester, KY in KDRA Super Stocks, Jeremie Bretz of Maysville, KY in Stock Four Cylinders, and Josh Dickerson of Richmond, KY in Mini-Cup/Cyclones.

Michael Chilton would take the lead in the early going of the 25 lap Super Late Model feature event and would never relinquish the position throughout the event and score the $1,500 victory aboard the Caton Industrial Painting/Superior Drywall/Parkview Home Center/Chilton Lawn and Maintenance sponsored #97 Rocket Chassis, Bullock Race Engines powered entry.  Tripp Gerrald would take runner-up honors, while Justin Rattliff would claim the third positon.  Steve Elliott and Ernie Cordier completed the top five.  Nine entries would see Rattliff as top qualifier at 13.313 seconds, while Bailey won the heat.

The 20 lap Pro Late Model feature contest would see Hudson O’Neal briefly lose the lead to Connor Meade around the midpoint of the race, but O’Neal would regain the top spot and drive on to his second straight feature win at the track in the Todd Burns owned PEAK/Tarpy Trucking/Vermeer Midwest/Midwest Sheet Metal/Penske Shocks/Kimbell Midwest sponsored #71 Club 29 Race Car sporting a GM604 crate engine.  Meade and eighth starting Todd Coffman would finish second and third, while 14th starting Josh Henry and Tyler Allen would complete the top five.  The remainder of the top ten would be Austin Burns, 21st starting Wesley Brummett, 19th starting Timmy Taylor, 17th starting Brian Walters, and Perry Barnhardt.  Twenty-two entries would see O’Neal as top qualifier at 14.805 seconds and win a heat, while Meade and Chris Fair were also heat winners.

Victor Lee would start last but would finish in the 20 lap Modified feature contest as he would take the lead from Bryan Barber on lap 14 and cruise to the victory aboard the Kerry Trowbridge owned Tri-County Auto and Oil/Automotive Specialities/Brunner and Son Lawn Care/Dexter’s Gun and Ammo sponsored #16 Mark Bush Race Car powered by a Pro Power Race Engine.  Sam Murphy, Jr. would take second place, while Joseph Husband would finish third.  Keith Decker and Cecil West rounded out the top five.  Nine entries would see Lee as top qualifier at 15.043 seconds, while David Webb won the heat.

Eddie Stewart would lead flag-to-flag in the 15 lap KDRA Super Stock main event behind the wheel of the We Go the Dog sponsored #119 machine.  Buzz Williams would finish second, while Casey King would claim a career best third place finish.  Fourth and fifth place efforts would go to Anthony Wiseman and Darrell Cain.  Eight entries would see Stewart as top qualifier at 16.401 seconds and also win the heat.

Jeremie Bretz would make a turn two, last lap pass on  Dave McCarty to claim the Stock Four Cylinder feature win driving the Swartz Enterprises #007 entry.  McCarty would finish second, with Shane Irvin, Rodney Burton, and Dylan Stevens completing the top five finishers.  Eight entries would see Bretz also be top qualifier at 19.414 seconds, while McCarty would win the heat. 

Josh Dickerson would be the fourth different leader of the 10 lap Mini-Cup/Cyclone feature event and lead the last lap to pick up the victory in the Big Daddy’s Graphics and Signs/Valvoline/C&C Designs sponsored #17D MMI Chassis.  Bobby Williams, Josh Hampton, Andrew Parson, and Blake Brown would complete the top five.  Seven entries would see Williams as top qualifier at 20.635 seconds, with Brown winning the heat.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-August 5, 2016 (

Super Late Models(9 entries)
Top Qualifier- Justin Rattliff 13.313
Heat- Tommy Bailey, Michael Chilton, Justin Rattliff, Tripp Gerrald, Gary Yeager, Daniel Dial, Steve Elliott, Donnie Sullivan (DNS- Ernie Cordier)
Feature- Michael Chilton, Tripp Gerald, Justin Rattliff, Steve Elliott, Ernie Cordier, Gary Yeager, Donnie Sullivan, Daniel Dial, Tommy Bailey

Pro Late Models (22 entries)
Top Qualifier- Hudson O’Neal 14.805
1st Heat- Hudson O’Neal, Austin Burns, Dion Benningfield, Clayton Turner, Mark Philpot, Elliott Despain (DNS- Timmy Taylor) 2nd Heat- Connor Meade, Grant Garrison, Todd Coffman, Steven Eversole, Jake Henry, Brian Walters, Matthew Smith 3rd Heat- Chris Fair, Tyler Allen, Perry Barnhardt, Austin Taylor, Brian Royalty, Jeremy Strunk, Wesley Brummett (DNS- Derreck Meadors)
Feature- Hudson O’Neal, Connor Meade, Todd Coffman, Jake Henry, Tyler Allen, Austin Burns, Wesley Brummett, Timmy Taylor, Brian Walters, Perry Barnhardt, Brian Royalty, Mark Philpot, Austin Taylor, Grant Garrison, Steven Eversole, Chris Fair, Clayton Turner, Dion Benningfield, Derreck Meadors, Elliott Despain, Jeremy Strunk, Matthew Smith

Modifieds (9 entries)
Top Qualifier- Victor Lee 15.043
Heat- David Webb, Bryan Barber, Peyton Harlow, Sam Murphy, Jr., Joseph Husband, Tim Patrick, Keith Decker, Cecil West, Victor Lee
Feature- Victor Lee, Sam Murphy, Jr., Joseph Husband, Keith Decker, Cecil West, Bryan Barber, Tim Patrick, David Webb, Peyton Harlow

KDRA Super Stocks (8 entries)
Top Qualifier- Eddie Stewart 16.401
Heat- Eddie Stewart, Buzz Williams, Terry Cheeks, Anthony Wiseman, Casey King, Robert Stanton, Sarah Patrick (DNS- Darrell Cain)
Feature- Eddie Stewart, Buzz Williams, Casey King, Anthony Wiseman, Darrell Cain, Robert Stanton, Terry Cheeks, Sarah Patrick

Stock Four Cylinders (8 entries)
Top Qualifier- Jeremie Bretz, 19.414
Heat- Dave McCarty, Shane Irvin, Jeremie Bretz, Eric Reynolds, Charles Burton, Keith Gipson, Rodney Burton (DNS- Dylan Stevens)
Feature- Jeremie Bretz, Dave McCarty, Shane Irvin, Rodney Burton, Dylan Stevens, Keith Gipson, Eric Reynolds, Charles Burton

Mini-Cup/Cyclones (7 entries)
Top Qualifier- Bobby Williams 20.635
Heat- Blake Brown, Josh Dickerson, Bobby Williams, Andrew Parson, Dylan Rutherford (DNS- Josh Hampton, Brady Lear)

Feature- Josh Dickerson, Bobby Williams, Josh Hampton, Andrew Parson, Blake Brown (DNS- Dylan Rutherford, Brady Lear)