Ponderosa Speedway Honors 2016 Track Champions -Chilton, Henry, Webb, Cheeks, Stevens, Brown, and Parson Receive Top Honors
Junction City, KY (January 14, 2017) Ponderosa Speedway track promoter Jamie Stumph and co-owner Larry Redenivs honored the top drivers for the 2016 racing season on Saturday evening at The Showroom in Danville, KY.  The top five drivers in each division were honored after a meal that kicked off the evening’s festivities. 

The Super Late Model division would see Michael Chilton of Salvisa, KY honored as the 2016 track champion.  Chilton would claim feature victories en route to his second consecutive Super Late Model track championship at the track.  Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, KY would finish as the track championship runner-up for the division, while Donnie Sullivan of Stanford, KY would claim third place honors in the final points tally.  Cody Mahoney of Hanover, IN would score one feature event win (Pete Abell Memorial) to finish fourth in points, while Brian Smith of Gray, KY and Greg Johnson of Bedford, IN would finish in a tie for the fifth position in track points.

The Pro Late Model class 2016 track championship would go to Jake Henry of Junction City, KY.  Although Henry did not score a feature victory on the way to claiming his first-ever track title, he would prove to be a mark of consistency, with his worst points finish of the season in a feature event being an eighth place, with the rest being top five finishes.  Connor Meade of Clay City, KY would finish in the second position in track points, while Wesley Brummett of Harrodsburg, KY would claim the third position in final track points.  There would be tie for the fourth position in Pro Late Model division point markers, with Steven Eversole of Crab Orchard, KY and Todd Coffman of Parksville, KY both claiming the position.

David Webb of Nicholasville, KY would lay claim to the 2016 track championship for the Modified division.  This veteran racer would also use a streak of consistency to claim his first ever open-wheel track title at the track where is a former Super Late Model track champion, as Webb would also never finish worse than eighth in a track points events.  Victor Lee of Danville, KY would score three feature wins during the season to finish second in the final division track points, with veteran racer Tim Patrick of Albany, KY claiming the final podium position in the final track points.  Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, KY would score a fourth place finish in final points for the division, while veteran Keith Decker of Somerset, KY would round out the top five in final Modified track points for 2016.

Long-time veteran racer Terry Cheeks of Paint Lick, KY would claim his first-ever track title as he would be honored as the 2016 KDRA Super Stock track champion.  Cheeks would also prove that consistency will win championships, as he never finished worse than ninth in a track points event.  Second-generation driver Casey King of Junction City, KY would complete his first full season of competition in the second points position, while Sarah Patrick of Albany, KY, the only lady racer at the track on a full-time basis, would score a third place points finish.  Hoosier state veteran Troy Clark of North Vernon, IN would finish fourth in the final points tally, while Eddie Stewart of Manchester, KY would claim two feature victories on his way to claiming the final spot in the top five in KDRA Super Stock points. 

The Stock Four Cylinder division would see young gun Dylan Stevens claim the 2016 Stock Four Cylinder track champion honor.  Stevens would score two feature event victories during the season to win his first-ever Ponderosa Speedway track title.  Keith Gipson of Keene, KY would claim the track championship runner-up spot for the division, with Shane Irvin of Liberty, KY finishing the third points position in the final points rundown.  Charles Burton of Somerset, KY would pick up the fourth position in track points, while Dave McCarty of Owingsville, KY would round out the top five in points for the class.

Blake Brown of Corbin, KY and Andrew Parson of Greensburg, KY would finish in a tie in final points would be named the 2016 Mini-Cup/Cyclone co-track champions.  Brown and Parson would both be consistently in the top four feature finishers, with Brown’s co-title coming in a return to the division where he started his driving career and Parson’s co-title would come in his first season of action in the division.  Youngster Dylan Rutherford of Corbin, KY would claim one feature victory and finish third in final points, with Bobby Williams of Hyden, KY tallying enough points to finish in the fourth position.  Scott Crusenberry of Williamsburg, KY and Josh Dickerson of Richmond, KY would both win one feature contest and finish in a tie for the fifth position in final division points.

In other news, the track is pleased to announce an addition to its already-released 2017 track schedule, as the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Series for Super Late Models will sanction the 17th Annual Hugh “Junebug” Rowland Memorial contest.  The Modified division will also see extra-money that evening as well, as the Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Division Series will sanction the Modifieds at this event as well.

Ponderosa Speedway will begin its 45th season of dirt track racing competition with a pair of open practice events on Saturday March 25 and Friday March 31, while the green flag for racing will officially drop on the season with a special Saturday April 1 season opener that will be highlighted by the Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Division Series racing for $2,000 to win that evening. 

Ponderosa Speedway is located at 365 Phillips Lane on the Boyle/Lincoln County border, outside of Junction City, KY, just minutes from Danville, KY.  Jamie Stumph is the track promoter.  For more information about racing activities at Ponderosa Speedway, visit the track’s webpage on the internet at or by contacting track promoter Jamie Stumph at (859) 326-0579 or via email at, via Twitter @MichaelDespain or @PonderosaSpdwy, or on Facebook at (Ponderosa Speedway).  Patrons and/or other interested parties can phone the track at (859) 854-6808 on raceday.