Wells, Smith, Stamper, Hayes, and Thompson Pepsi Family Fun Night Winners at Ponderosa Speedway
Junction City, KY (July 13, 2018) Ponderosa Speedway would return to action on Friday evening with Pepsi Family Fun Night and feature event winners would be Eric Wells of Hazard, KY in Super Late Models, Justin Smith of Barbourville, KY in Crate Late Models, Daniel Stamper of Hazard, KY in KDRA Super Stocks, Tyler Hayes of Pine Ridge, KY in KDRA Four Cylinders, and Trevor Thompson of Glasgow, KY in Mini-Cup/Cyclones. 

Eric Wells would take the lead at the start of the Pepsi Family Fun Night Super Late Model Championship event and he and David Webb would drive away from the field, with Webb pressuring Wells for the lead in heavy traffic with fifteen laps complete, but Wells would clear traffic and the only caution of the event would appear with five laps remaining in the twenty-five lap contest when James Rice would contact the outside retaining wall in turn one.  Wells would control the final five laps on his way to a $2,000 payday aboard the Wells Motorsports, Convenient Lube, Penske Shocks, All Star Performance, Schaeffer’s Oil, Big Blue Smokehouse sponsored #18 Longhorn Chassis, Cornett Race Engines powered mount.  Webb would settle for runner-up honors, while Todd Coffman, Michael Chilton, and Josh Rice completed the top five.  The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Connor Meade, Cameron Marlar, Tommy Bailey, Lauren Longbrake, and Brian Smith. 

Tyler Collins would lead the first ten circuits of the twenty-lap Crate Late Model main event, but Justin Smith would work his way past Collins on lap eleven and would keep Collins at bay in the final three laps of the event to score the victory in the Smith’s Guttering and Siding, Hoosier Tire South sponsored #7 entry.  Collins would claim second, while Nathan Martin would finish in the third position.  Jake Henry and Elliott Despain would round out the top five.  Tim Tungate would head up the sixth through tenth place finishers at the conclusion of the event, followed by Brian Royalty, Daniel Dial, Clay Turner, and Steven Eversole. 

Daniel Stamper and Eddie Stewart would battle throughout the twenty-lap Pepsi Family Fun Night KDRA Super Stock Championship event, with Stamper pulling away from Stewart over the final five circuits of the event to score the victory in the Dixie Recycling, Daniel’s Logging, C&C Tire sponsored #62.  Stewart would finish in the second position, while Jeremy Howard, Brad Davis, and Bryson Patton would complete the top five finishers.  Completing the top ten at the conclusion of the event would be Robby Perkins, Greg Hensley, Terry Cheeks, Jimmy Bailey, and Mike Lunsford. 

Brandon Henson would lead the opening ten circuits of the twenty-lap Pepsi Family Fun Night KDRA Four Cylinder Championship event until lap ten when he pull to the work area under during a caution flag with a flat right-rear tire and would be unable to get the car to restart to rejoin the field.  This would hand the lead over to Tyler Hayes and Hayes would hold off the challenges of Brian Roberts and Zac Karr as the trio battled heavy traffic over the final four laps of the contest, with Hayes scoring the win in the Pine Ridge Mart, 511 Graphics, Parsons Electric sponsored #23.  Roberts and Karr would finish second and third respectively, with Bill Robinson nipping Shane Irvin at the finish for the fourth position, while Irvin would finish fifth.  The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Brandon Creech, David Owens, Jesse Parker, Charles Burton, and Dewayne Smith. 

Dylan Rutherford would take the initial checkered flag in the Mini-Cup/Cyclone feature event, but a post-race protest would result in Rutherford and third-place finisher Brilynn Ritchie being disqualified, allowing Trevor Thompson to inherit the race win, with Jason Hinkle, Jr. finishing second. 

The next event at Ponderosa Speedway will be on Friday August 17 and will be the 3rd Annual Big Daddy Classic, with Super Late Models racing for $3,088 to win, along with Crate Late Models racing for $1,088 to win, Open Wheel Modifieds racing for $588 to win, KDRA Super Stocks racing for $588 to win, and KDRA Four Cylinders racing for $488 to win. 

Ponderosa Speedway is located at 365 Phillips Lane on the Boyle/Lincoln County border, outside of Junction City, KY, just minutes from Danville, KY.  Mark and Sharon Naylor are the track owners, while Chris Tilley is the general manager/promoter.  For more information about racing activities at Ponderosa Speedway, visit the track’s webpage on the internet at or by contacting track promoter/general manager Chris Tilley at the track phone number of (859) 854-6808, via Twitter @PonderosaSpdwy, or on Facebook at  Patrons and/or other interested parties can phone the track at (859) 854-6808 on raceday.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-July 13, 2018

Super Late Models (13 entries)
Top Qualifier- Eric Wells 13.295
1st Heat- Eric Wells, Tommy Bailey, Connor Meade, Josh Rice, Brian Smith, Timmy Taylor
2nd Heat- David Webb, Todd Coffman, James Rice, Michael Chilton, Cameron Marlar, Lauren Longbrake, Ernie Cordier
Feature- Eric Wells, David Webb, Todd Coffman, Michael Chilton, Josh Rice, Connor Meade, Cameron Marlar, Tommy Bailey, Lauren Longbrake, Brian Smith, Timmy Taylor, Ernie Cordier, James Rice

Crate Late Models (23 entries)
Top Qualifier- Tyler Collins 14.039
1st Heat- Tyler Collins, Brian Royalty, Wesley Brummett, Elliott Despain, Lane Meredith, C.J. Ruble, Cody Sasher, Jeff Watson
2nd Heat- Justin Smith, Jake Henry, Derek Bottoms, Daniel Dial, Tim Tungate, Clay Turner, Bubba Gibson (DNS-Michael Coontz)
3rd Heat- Nathan Martin, Jim Couch, Gary Yeager, Brandon Hardgrove, Steven Eversole, Dalton Brown (DNS-Brian Wooldridge)
B-Main- Clay Turner, C.J. Ruble, Bubba Gibson, Jeff Watson, Dalton Brown (DNS-Cody Sasher, Brian Wooldridge, Michael Coontz)
Feature-Justin Smith, Tyler Collins, Nathan Martin, Jake Henry, Elliott Despain, Tim Tungate, Brian Royalty, Daniel Dial, Clay Turner, Steven Eversole, Bubba Gibson, Lane Meredith, Jim Couch, Wesley Brummett, Brandon Hardgrove, Gary Yeager, C.J. Ruble, Derek Bottoms

KDRA Super Stocks (13 entries)
American Racer Tires by Larry Top Qualifier- Eddie Stewart 15.829
1st Heat- Eddie Stewart, Brad Davis, Corey Lewis, Greg Hensley, Terry Cheeks, Tyler Collis, Jimmy Bailey
2nd Heat- Daniel Stamper, Jeremy Howard, Robby Perkins, Bryson Patton, Mike Lunsford, Matt Foley
Feature- Daniel Stamper, Eddie Stewart, Jeremy Howard, Brad Davis, Bryson Patton, Robby Perkins, Greg Hensley, Terry Cheeks, Jimmy Bailey, Mike Lunsford, Corey Lewis, Matt Foley (DNS-Tyler Collis)

KDRA Four Cylinders (24 entries)
Danville Office Equipment Top Qualifier- Brian Roberts 17.127
1st Heat- Brandon Henson, Brian Roberts, Dylan Stevens, Bill Robinson, Harold Brown, Mike Hill (DNS-Anthony Wiseman, Tyler Hall)
2nd Heat- Tyler Hayes, Chris Lowe, Shane Irvin, David Owens, Jesse Parker, Charles Burton, Blake Patton, Eddie Stewart
3rd Heat- James Ramey, Zac Karr, Dewayne Smith, Cody Spence, James Pendleton, Doodle Farris, Brandon Creech (DNS-Kelly Neace)
Feature- Tyler Hayes, Brian Roberts, Zac Karr, Bill Robinson, Shane Irvin, Brandon Creech, David Owens, Jesse Parker, Charles Burton, Dewayne Smith, Chris Lowe, Doodle Farris, Cody Spence, Mike Hill, James Pendleton, Brandon Henson, Dylan Stevens, James Ramey, Harold Brown, Blake Patton (DNS-Eddie Stewart, Anthony Wiseman, Tyler Hall, Kelly Neace)

Mini-Cup/Cyclones (5 entries)
Heat- Brilynn Ritchie, Dylan Rutherford, Jason Hinkle, Sr., Trevor Thompson, Jason Hinkle, Jr.

Feature- Trevor Thompson, Jason Hinkle, Jr., Dylan Rutherford, Brilynn Ritchie (DNS-Jason Hinkle, Sr.)