Eddie Carrier, Jr. Captures LOLMDS 14th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial at Ponderosa Speedway
Junction City, KY (August 31, 2018) Ponderosa Speedway would return to action on Friday with the 14th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial presented by McGowan Excavating, featuring the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and Eddie Carrier, Jr. of Salt Rock, WV would pick up the $12,000 payday after the event would be called complete by LOLMDS officials after thirty of the scheduled fifty laps had been completed when a brief rain shower moved over the track.  Following victory lane ceremonies, the rain showers stopped and the remainder of the racing program would be completed, with other feature event winners including Jeff Watson of Campbellsville, KY  in Crate Late Models, Robby Perkins of Ezel, KY in KDRA Super Stocks, and Jeremie Bretz of Maysville, KY in KDRA Four Cylinders.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series main event would take the green flag with lightning flashing all around the track and Eddie Carrier, Jr. would grab the lead, with Earl Pearson, Jr. and Josh Richards battling for second.  Carrier, Jr. would hold the top spot until lap seven when Pearson, Jr. would snatch the lead away from Carrier, Jr., while Richards continued to hold third.  Pearson, Jr. and Carrier, Jr. would put a little distance between themselves and the rest of the field until a caution waved with nineteen laps complete for a two-car tangle in turn two involving Brandon Overton and Tim McCreadie.  Back underway, Pearson, Jr. maintained the race lead, but Carrier, Jr. would begin to mount a charge on Pearson, Jr. for the race lead and Carrier, Jr. would retake the top spot on lap twenty-eight.  Two more laps would be scored until top qualifier Kyle Bronson would slow on the track with a flat tire.  At this time, light rain began to fall and after a bit, series officials dropped the checkered flag, making Carrier, Jr. the winner.  Pearson, Jr. would settle for second, with Richards claiming third.  Jonathan Davenport would finish in the fourth position, while Jared Hawkins completed the top five.  The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Darrell Lanigan, Jimmy Owens, Gregg Satterlee, Tanner English, and Mason Zeigler.

Justin Smith would lead the majority of the Crate Late Model feature until Jeff Watson would deliver a turn four slidejob pass for the lead coming to the white flag and lead the final lap to pick up the division’s feature win.  Smith would finish second, with Indiana invader Steve Peeden finishing third in his first-ever appearance at the track.  Jim Couch and Jake Henry would round out the top-five finishers.  Sixth through tenth place at the finish would be Elliott Despain, Tyler Neal, Brian Royalty, Steven Eversole, and Derek Bottoms.

Robby Perkins would lead all fifteen laps of the KDRA Super Stock main event to claim the feature victory.  Jeremy Howard would score runner-up honors, with Ronnie Cole, Jr. finishing in the third position.  The remainder of the finishing order would be Glen Hounshell, Jr., Terry Cheeks, and Daniel Stamper.

Jeremie Bretz would claim the victory in the KDRA Four Cylinder feature contest that would be declared complete when rains moved back into the speedway area around the halfway mark of the event.  Faron Robinson would finish second, with Jason Stone claiming third.  Tyler Hayes and Brandon Creech would complete the top five. 

The next events at Ponderosa Speedway will take place on Friday October 12 and Saturday October 13 as the track will present the 17th Annual Hugh “Junebug” Rowland Memorial on Friday October 13 and the 28th Fall Classic-A Tribute to Big Daddy-presented by McGowan Excavating.  The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV and the MARS Super Late Model Racing Series will co-sanction both events, with Friday’s “Junebug” event paying $3,000 to win and Saturday’s Fall Classic event paying, $10,000 to win. 

Ponderosa Speedway is located at 365 Phillips Lane on the Boyle/Lincoln County border, outside of Junction City, KY, just minutes from Danville, KY.  Mark and Sharon Naylor are the track owners, while Chris Tilley is the general manager/promoter.  For more information about racing activities at Ponderosa Speedway, visit the track’s webpage on the internet at or by contacting track promoter/general manager Chris Tilley at the track phone number of (859) 854-6808, via Twitter @PonderosaSpdwy, or on Facebook at  Patrons and/or other interested parties can phone the track at (859) 854-6808 on raceday.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, KY-August 31, 2018

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (28 entries)
Top Qualifier- Kyle Bronson 12.905
1st Heat (top six transfer)- Kyle Bronson, Earl Pearson, Jr., Tim McCreadie, Brandon Overton, Gregg Satterlee, Ricky Thornton, Jr., Mike Marlar, Tommy Bailey, Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist
2nd Heat (top six transfer)- Eddie Carrier, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Michael Chilton, Jared Hawkins, Darrell Lanigan, Bobby Pierce, Mason Zeigler, Todd Coffman (DNS-David Webb)
3rd Heat (top six transfer)- Tanner English, Josh Richards, Don O’Neal, Victor Lee, Eric Wells, Shanon Buckingham, Jason Jameson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Connor Meade
B-Main (top four transfer)- Mike Marlar, Mason Zeigler, Tommy Bailey, Jimmy Owens, Dennis Erb, Jr., Todd Coffman, Scott Bloomquist, Connor Meade, David Webb (DNS-Jason Jameson)
Provisionals- Dennis Erb, Jr. (series), Todd Coffman (time)
14th Annual John Bradshaw Memorial presented by McGowan Excavating- Eddie Carrier, Jr., Earl Pearson, Jr., Josh Richards, Jonathan Davenport, Jared Hawkins, Darrell Lanigan, Jimmy Owens, Gregg Satterlee, Tanner English, Mason Zeigler, Dennis Erb, Jr., Don O’Neal, Ricky Thornton, Jr., Victor Lee, Tim McCreadie, Tommy Bailey, Kyle Bronson, Michael Chilton, Eric Wells, Brandon Overton, Bobby Pierce, Shanon Buckingham, Mike Marlar, Todd Coffman

Crate Late Models (16 entries)
Top Qualifier- Justin Smith
1st Heat- Justin Smith, Steve Peeden, Jeff Watson, Jake Henry, Elliott Despain, Steven Eversole, Gary Yeager, C.J. Ruble
2nd Heat- Derek Bottoms, Brian Royalty, Jim Couch, Tyler Neal, Wesley Brummett, Clayton Turner, Dalton Brown, Michael Coontz
Feature- Jeff Watson, Justin Smith, Steve Peeden, Jim Couch, Jake Henry, Elliott Despain, Tyler Neal, Brian Royalty, Steven Eversole, Derek Bottoms, Clayton Turner, C.J. Ruble, Gary Yeager, Michael Coontz, Wesley Brummett (DNS-Dalton Brown)

KDRA Super Stocks (6 entries)
Top Qualifier- Robby Perkins
Feature- Robby Perkins, Jeremy Howard, Ronnie Cole, Jr., Glen Hounshell, Jr., Terry Cheeks, Daniel Stamper

KDRA Four Cylinders (8 entries)
Top Qualifier- Tyler Hayes
Feature- Jeremie Bretz, Faron Robinson, Jason Stone, Tyler Hayes, Brandon Creech, Clint Cox, Bill Robinson (DNS-Danny Winchester)